top of page
  • tarati

Kickstarting Podman Desktop


This was quite a productive week in RH. I feel that I got a lot done, conquered some obstacles and learned a lot.

 


Last week I mentioned that I was assigned to work on the Podman desktop application. My task was to install it and carry out an initial evaluation of the application. Basically, as a user of this application, what do I think about it? do I find it easy to use? what do I think about the user interface?


The first issue I encountered with the application was that there was no documentation on how to install it. I installed the application based on general knowledge from the internet. After my installation, I discovered that the application was not working correctly.

I also found it difficult to use because there were no back buttons so navigation was kind of clunky. The preferences section leaves a lot of room for improvement (which is my main task). Finally, the application did not respond to the close button so I had to kill it from the command line. I feel that this is the most significant usability problem; a user should be able to exit an application!


During the course of the week, I was able to get in touch with another intern who helped me with the setup and installation of the podman desktop application. Now, I have a working application and I was able to carry out several tasks including starting/restarting a container, deleting a container, pulling an image from a registry, creating an image from a dockerfile, creating a container from an image, etc.


One of my tasks for this week was to categorize user tasks for podman according to the frequency of use. The tasks were categorized into the following:

​Q1 - All Users, Frequently

Q2 - All users, Occasionally

Q3 - Some Users, Frequently

Q4 - Some Users, Occasionally


This can be read as the task that all users will perform occasionally will be categorised as a Q2 task.



Tools and Forums

 

I was added to the slack group for Podman desktop.


I have to learn how to use PenPot. I also have to learn about PatternFly's design guidelines.


What next?

 

My next assignment is to make sketches for the new settings section for the Podman desktop application.




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page